Paleo Wheat Free Flours Alternatives – Gluten & Wheat Free Flour Alternatives

Wheat flour cannot be used when cooking gluten free and wheat free recipes. There are now a wide range of alternative flours for those that require a gluten free diet. Specialty stores and local commercial market now recognize the demand for gluten free products. Many whole food markets have gluten free, dairy free and preservative produce sections.

Wheat Flour Cooking Alternatives

Amaranth Flour

Made from the seed of the Amaranth plant. The Amaranth plant is a green leafy vegetable. The seeds are rich in protein. Amaranth flour is a wheat flour alternative used in baking. Alternative names: African spinach, Chinese spinach, Indian spinach and elephant ear. Wheat Free and Gluten Free Flour but amaranth not allowed in Paleo Diet

Arrowroot Flour

The root of the arrowroot plant is ground into flour. Arrowroot flour is a bland and fine powder that becomes clear when cooked. Great thickening for clear sauces

Brown Rice Flour

Brown rice flour is heavier than white rice flour. Ground from unpolished brown rice has high nutritional value. Has a grainy texture. There is a heavier texture with brown rice flour as versus to white rice flour. Rice not allowed in Paleo Diet

Buckwheat Flour

Buckwheat is a herbal plant. Buckwheat is not a cereal or grass. It is a pseudocereal meaning it is not related to wheat. Buckwheat's outer husk is removed and the plant is dried. The plant is ground into flour. Buckwheat can be cross-contaminated if processed in wheat facilities. Those people that are gluten intolerant make sure to read the labels that the produce is "gluten free". Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour but buckwheat flour not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Chick Pea Flour

The chick pea is ground into flour. Has a nutty taste. Usually combined with another wheat flour alternative. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour but peas not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Corn Flour

Corn Flour is ground corn. The grain is a fine, white powder used as recipe thickener. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour but corn not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Cornmeal

Ground from corn and heavier than corn flour. Used to make cornbread. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour corn not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Maize Flour

Maize flour is heavier than corn flour. Maize flour is ground from corn. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour but again corn not allowed in Paleo Diet

Millet Flour

Millet is from the grass family. Cereals used in African and Asian countries. Can be used to thicken soups and only in certain types of baking. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Potato Flour

Potato flour is not the same as potato starch flour. Potato flour is a heavy flour with a strong potato flavor. Potatoes not allowed in Paleo Diet. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour

Potato Starch Flour

Potato starch flour is a fine white flour. Potato flour and potato starch flour are both made from potatoes. Wheat Free & Gluten Free but potatoes not allowed in Paleo Diet

Quinoa Flour

Has been used for hundred of years as a cereal. The Incas called it, "the mother seed". Related to the plant family of spinach and beets. The seeds of the quinoa plant are ground into flour. Quinoa flour is a good source of vegetable protein. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour note allowed in Paleo Diet read notes.

Sorghum Flour

Staple used in Africa and India. Used in soups and unleavened breads. The flour is ground from sorghum grains. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour

Soya Flour

A successful alternative flour when combined with another wheat alternative flours. Can be used as a thickener and taste enhancer. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour but contains soy not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Tapioca Flour

Made from the root of the cassava plant. Ground is a light and fine white flour. Adds a chewy texture and thickening agents. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour

Teff Flour

From the grass family and used as cereal grain in Northern Africa. Used to make sour flat bread. Teff flour is highly nutritious. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour

White Rice Flour

Ground from white rice. Does not have nutritional value compared to brown rice flour. White rice flour gives a light texture. Can be used in a variety of recipes. Wheat Free & Gluten Free Flour rice not allowed in Paleo Diet.

Note: Amaranth, Buckwheat and Quinoa are not grains and do not come from grasses. Amaranth, Buckwheat and Quinoa are gluten free and are seeds from leafy plants. Because their seeds have more starch than other seeds they are considered pseudo-grains. For the strict Paleo Diet they are not allowed. Be sure to read the labels that the product is "gluten free". Some of these grains can be cross-contaminated if processed in facilities that also process wheat.

The Paleo Recipes Cookbook has 310 Gluten and Dairy Free Recipes. Bonus all recipes are Preservative Free. Discover Paleo or Caveman Gluten Free and Dairy Free Recipes Order: The Paleo Recipes Cookbook For a collection of Favorite Restaurant Recipes Favorite Recipe Secrets

The Author:

Like most people I am a multi-tasker. I am a wife, mom and businesswoman. Recently, I have been researching foods, ingredients and recipes. I have a collection of favorite recipe secrets. The cookbook vary from Copycat Famous and Favorite Restaurant Recipes Secrets, Gluten Free, Dairy Free and Preservative Free Cookbooks. We all have to eat. Why not learn to cook varied healthy meals.

Photo Credit: stockimages | Freedigitalphotos.net

Article Source: Articlesbase.com

2 Responses

  1. Ho thuy sinh

    Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this website regularly,
    this website is in fact pleasant and the people are actually sharing pleasant thoughts.

  2. Dixie Brewer

    I have a need to fix: situation; recipe calls for 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 1/2 tsp. baking powder. Can I just use 1 tsp. baking soda? I have lots of baking soda and not a drop of baking powder. Help? … Dixie

Leave a comment