Introduction to The Heart Chakra

Introduction to The Heart Chakra

Anahata or Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is located in the chest, on the same level as the actual heart but right in the center of your chest, is given the color green and is the element air. This chakra represents emotional issues. A disturbance in this chakra will manifest itself as emotional outbursts, insecurity, nervousness, anxiety, anger and an overly critical nature. Other characteristic of an imbalance in this chakra include an inability to have deep relationships or express emotion.

Asanas that help balance this chakra include any chest expanding posture like backbends and releasing posture such as forward folds. Next time you perform these postures, connect with your heart chakra by staying open through your chest and focusing on the color green.


The Author:

Kate is a mom of 2 beautiful & rambunctious little boys and a Certified Yoga Teacher at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *